Drink because you are happy, but never because you are miserable (moan).

On a bland, uninteresting and rather tiresome note, an email was sent to me at work today. The email was to do with stats and bonuses and whatnot, nothing more than an attempt by one of my colleagues to whip us all into a frenzy and get us to sell as many units as possible.

The email ended thus;

Cheers guys and lets all have a good month! this is our x-mas booze money bonus after all!!!

There are a number of things wrong with this (no capital letters at the beginnings of sentences, using ‘x-mas’ instead of Christmas and a gross misuse of punctuation) but I’m not going to go into those today, oh no.

My problem is with the premise on which this email closes. I don’t particularly enjoy being lumped in with people at the best of times, but when it implies that the most important thing for me is earning money to get drunk with then I’m not really best pleased. I don’t really mind when emails are sent about encouraging people to do their best in work, but I certainly don’t think that the way to motivate people is to dangle booze in front of their noses. I work in a fairly relaxed office; casual dress, music playing from time-to-time and so on, but even still a level of professionalism should be maintained. Not only that, but I think it says a lot about;

  • The person who wrote the email; clearly their priorities couldn’t be further from my own.
  • The people I work with; if these people are motivated by this kind of thing then this just makes me feel even more distanced from them.

Maybe I’m being pathetic, petty and down-right dull. Maybe I just need to man-up and learn to enjoy drinking more.

Sigh.

Look at me go, moaning about people who just want to have a good time.

I’m

so

shit.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

