A half-life.


07:45

I wake with a terrible hangover, a splintering headache, a strong sense of regret, embarassment and an awkward feeling in my stomach that I can’t seem to shift.

08:15

Unsettled glances across the living room.

“I’ll see you after work.”

The door slams shut. Bloody thing’s always slammed nomatter how gently I try to close it. The people below must hate me.

Back to sleep.

10:00

Start. All Programs. Steam.

Username: Cohaagen
Password: ******

Half-Life 2, starred, Metascore: 96.

Right-click. Launch Half-Life 2.

12:15

Stomach is paining me. Time to put the kettle on. Food: a luxury I can scarcely afford.

Or can I?

CTRL+D
CTRL+SHIFT+F

Firefox.

Bookmarks. Personal. Online Banking.

Balance: -£1,650.00
Available Balance: £0.00

No. No I can’t.

Earl Grey again. The bergamot makes my stomach churn and my brain tick over. It’s all I have. Back to my desk, Gordon Freeman’s right hand bobs from left to right. The tea is lukewarm now. I gulp it down. The longer it stays in my mouth the worse it tastes.

My stomach groans.

13:00

A phonecall.

13:30

A second phonecall. My heart has sunk. Back to sleep.

ALT+F4
CTRL+ALT+Delete

Tab. Hibernate Computer. Space.

~

That was the worst day.

I tried playing Half-Life 2 again today. I couldn’t last for any longer than fifteen minutes. It was too much.

Far too much.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

